Day 5 started rough

The nausea won this morning. I tried to take my meds, half a banana and a glass of water for breakfast around 5:15 AM. It lasted about 30 seconds before Jess woke up to my heaving. Although I was hungry, I couldn’t eat or drink anything until roughly 11 AM. My nurse switched my oral medications over to an IV version to get it in my system.

I slept through nearly the entire visit to Dana-Farber. Yet again, I was emotional about being in there when it came time to hook up the IV. I didn’t try to fight the fatigue, and the dozing off seemed to pass the time more quickly.

I am now taking 3 different kinds of anti-nausea meds. One of which, moonlights as a sleeping pill/anti-depression, which must be working because I feel generally ok about things right now.

Tomorrow should be an easy day. I will wake up, work from home in the morning and have a quick appointment at Dana-Farber in the afternoon for a shot of red blood cells. I will progressively feel better over the next two weeks now that my first week of treatment is over.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on June 8, 2009 at 10:39 PM

    Congrats on finishing session 1…only 2 more to go 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2009 at 8:42 AM

    You are an amazing person to share with the all of us what you are going through. Your strength and positive attitude are an inspiration. Thanks for sharing it’s important that your helping us to learn what it’s like to be the patient.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2009 at 1:50 PM

    Love ya Bill, you are an inspiration to everyone!
    Debra

    Reply

Leave a Reply

