Dana-Farber Checkup & TEAMS Study

I attended my 3-month checkup at Dana-Farber yesterday- all of the tests came back normal. I will continue to go in every 3-months in 2010. If the tests remain normal all of next year, my Dana-Farber schedule will be diminished to every 6-months in 2011.

Today I am participating in a Harvard Cancer Center research study, titled TEAMS. The principal investigator is from Mass General. The study is attempting to correlate environmental and gene factors to the cause of Testicular Cancer. I had to answer a ton of questions about family medical history, my diet and physical activity. Big surprise… I was an overweight and lazy kid! A couple of areas had more emphasis than others, such as consumption of soy products and riding bicycles. I was expecting some awkward questions, but there weren’t any. A researcher is coming to my office today to ask more questions and to take a blood sample. If any of the questions are funny, I’ll be sure to post them here!
One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on December 14, 2009 at 8:23 PM

    Bill, I am sooo proud of you. You are doing so great after everything you have been through and to take part of a study to help reserach is just amazing. Keep up the great work! Love Brenda

    Reply

Leave a Reply

