World Cancer Day

I just realized (through an email from the Livestrong foundation), that today is “World Cancer Day.” I’m not a huge fan of folks preaching about anything, but I’ll offer one piece of advice that saved my butt… go to your doctor. Before I got diagnosed with testicular cancer, I avoided the doctor like the plague. I hadn’t gone for a physical in over eight years. I was embarrassed because I was overweight, lazy and didn’t have the maturity to handle the whole “turn your head and cough” routine. I was petrified heading into my doctor’s office that day having a problem with my privates. I wasn’t going to go in. It was humbling to realize that I required medical treatment in order to survive. There was no choice in the matter, yet for years I acted like healthcare was optional.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2010 at 3:24 AM

    Bill, hopefully what you wrote will save someones life….glad you are cancer free now. We love you! Brenda and Adam

    Reply

  2. I am very happy for you as well. You’re the type of person I wish I was able to be, and I hope you have a loooong life of doing crazy things and then telling everyone in that inimitable way of yours that cracks everyone up.

    Everyone should go to their doctor from time to time. I remember waking up one day bleeding profusely from my butt, and said to myself, “ahh, it will go away by itself”. Two days later I wound up in the hospital with low crits and a bleeding ulcer because I was too stupid to sit in a waiting room. So do it. Get a check up. You won’t be sorry.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

