Checkup

I had my 6-month checkup at Dana-Farber last Friday. The good news is that my CT Scan and blood work came back cancer-free. Unfortunately, my appointment schedule was switched back to every 3 months. The original switch to 6 months was a miscommunication between the staff- I need to come in every 3 for the next couple of years.

Part of my visit included a discussion about side effects. In the last few months, I have perceived pain similar to what it was like prior to my orchiectomy. This is “phantom” pain and quite common according to my nurse practitioner. I also brought up fertility. There is a high likelihood that I’m now infertile. My insurance company will need it documented before they’ll cover any expenses related to treatment.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Tammy Guidi on December 7, 2010 at 9:30 PM

    Billy, This is so awesome! We are so happy for you and your family. Thank you for sharing with all of us out here, you are a true inspiration. As far as the fertility, keep the faith, destiny will bring you to where your supposed to be and parent to the most amazing child, whoever and wherever he or she may be. The Guidi Family- Special message: Matt says, Yeah for you and Yeah for your MOM. Congratulations kid 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Brenda Hammond on December 8, 2010 at 7:24 AM

    Bill, I am so excited you are still cancer free. Sorry about the side effects though 😦 You will always be in my thoughts and prayers and wishing you and Jessica the best! Love you guys!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

